Hays County

Hays County is located in south central Texas and has an estimated population of 204,470 as of 2016. The County is made up of 11 municipal jurisdictions. San Marcos is the County seat.

Hays County Municipal Jurisdictions/Cities

City of Hays
Dripping Springs
Mountain City
Niederwald (partly in Caldwell County)
San Marcos
Uhland (partly in Caldwell County)
Village of Bear Creek

Hays County Office of Emergency Services (OES) provides for the safety of Hays County residents through emergency preparedness and response. OES serves as the coordinating point for disaster preparedness, mitigation, response and recovery capabilities for Hays County in cooperation with the County’s municipal governments and special district, nonprofit and volunteer first response organizations. Hays County uses the CAPCOG Regional Notification System to notify residents about specific emergencies. Cell phone users must register their phones at WarnCentralTexas.org to receive those messages by phone, email and/or text. Countywide major emergency information is posted at www.HaysInformed.com. Hays County does not monitor social media posts. Residents who need emergency assistance should call 911 and should not post requests to County social media accounts.

Get Connected